Instead of Going on a BIG, Emotional, Verbal Tirade…

Here are some tools wives can learn to apply to prevent conflict and during conflict that can help keep from escalating into a verbal attack on their husbands.

I included some detailed examples and explanations because that is what I DESPERATELY needed when I was new to all of this stuff and just learning.  If it seems too overwhelming, just read a little bit each day and mull over each section over slowly.  I am not saying you must do exactly what I do or that I have all the answers for every situation.  But this may give you some possible godly examples, a sense of a general direction, a peek into a new way of thinking and living, and some ideas to think and pray about and even to discuss with your wonderful hubby!

 (If you are new to my blog, you may want to read the whole post.  If you have been reading for more than a few weeks, you may want to skip down to the second green subtitle.)

First – some general principles for handling emotions, desires and communication on a daily basis that helps to prevent major blow ups:

WHAT CAN I DO TO HELP MY HUSBAND HEAR AND CARE ABOUT MY FEELINGS?

1. The more generally respected my husband feels, and the more he sees that I am on his side, that I am a willing spirit who wants to follow his leadership and that I support him and see the best in him  the more he will be open and tuned in to care about my feelings.  Please note – HE HAS TO SEE THIS RESPECTFUL/COOPERATIVE ATTITUDE OVER A LONG PERIOD OF TIME  (many months or years – not hours or days) TO REALLY BELIEVE IT IS PERMANENT AND THAT I AM TRUSTWORTHY AND SAFE!  

For us, that meant a number of months had to go by before he could believe that this really was the new me.  Maybe 8-12 months before he began to really relax.  Some things immediately began to improve, but he had to stand back and watch for a long time before really feeling like he could open up his heart to me and trust me to respect him and allow him to lead.  He had to make sure it wasn’t some short-lived fad.  That’s fine!  We had 15+ years of marriage behind us with a history of me being disrespectful and taking over and trying to control.

We wives MUST be willing to commit to this long term, understanding it may take many months or years (depending on the level of disrespect and injury formerly in the marriage) for a husband to heal and trust enough to open his heart and believe that he is safe and won’t be attacked.  There are some husbands that are so wounded that they never open their hearts again (thankfully this is pretty rare).  But a wife can obey God’s Word to respect her husband and follow his leadership and know that she is honoring God and will be rewarded by Him no matter what her husband’s response or lack of response.  It is STILL worth it!  And this is the ONLY chance we really have to achieve true emotional and spiritual intimacy with our husbands.  So we might as well do what could actually work instead of just continuing to add to the damage and pain!

Before I learned about respect and submission, my husband kept a wall up around his heart to protect himself from me and my negative emotions.  He felt disrespected and he stone walled into his own little shell – I couldn’t get in no matter what I did.  I thought that increasing the volume or the emotional intensity would help him understand how upset I was, how much pain I was in, and that I NEEDED his love and if he could just understand how deep my pain was, he’d help me.  He couldn’t get past my disrespectful behavior to be able to see my needs.  I was stomping all over his needs and demanding that he meet my needs.  That was unfair to him!  And I sure didn’t get what I needed.  We BOTH lost.

2. Keeping my words to a minimum (like just 5% or so of what I am thinking, or just 5-10 minutes of emotional dialogue) REALLY helps him hear me!  If he has to endure 2 hours of negative emotions and me rehashing my feelings over and over and over – that is just TORTURE for most men!  I need to get really good at telling him the basics.  What I feel.  What I want.  What I need.  Then he can be my hero and help me!  I used to tell him EVERY THOUGHT that popped into my head.  That was too much dialogue for the poor guy.  He’s not my twin sister!  He’s a man!  And that’s ok.

3. I focus on the good in my husband and praise him, admire him and respect him verbally.  I cut out all the negativity, lecturing, criticism, contempt, bitterness, resentment, pride (and BOY was there a lot of that to get rid of!), teaching, bossing, ordering and telling him what to do.

4. I smile a lot (just to bless him).  I kiss him a lot. I hug him a lot.  I act like I am REALLY glad he’s with me!  I laugh at his jokes.  I ENJOY HIM.

5. I accept my husband as he is.  I don’t try to change him anymore.

6. I am very forgiving and full of grace and mercy. (this is a God’s Spirit being in control thing)

7. I thank him for being the leader in our marriage multiple times per week (I started doing this BEFORE he started leading, when I was beginning to learn to step down) and I praise and stand behind his leadership.  I tell him what I want, and when he makes a decision, I support it.  If I believe he is REALLY wrong, I can respectfully appeal his decision once.  I know that he’ll make mistakes sometimes, and I don’t make a big deal out of it.  He’s learning to be a godly leader, God will even use his mistakes to help him grow stronger.  (If he is sinning, or asking me to sin – I would have to resist him firmly but respectfully.)

8. I am quick to apologize if I am disrespectful or if I sin against my husband.

9. I strive to be HUMBLE!  My way is not necessarily better or more right.

TELLING HIM WHAT I WANT

I also share my desires with him simply, matter-of-factly, pleasantly, usually with a smile on my face.  Many times, I whisper it in his ear and then walk to another room and let him just think and ponder about my request , my beautiful smile and my eyes lit up with sincere adoration for him:

  • When I want something I say, “I want X.” “I want to do X.”  “I like doing X.”
  • When I don’t want something I say, “I don’t want X.”  “I don’t want to do X.”  “I don’t like X.”

I do not tell him what to do, when to do it, how to do it, where to do it or boss him around.  I tell him simply what I want and I leave it with him and trust him to make the best decision for our family about what gets done (Laura Doyle “The Surrendered Wife”).   I do NOT expect him to read my mind!!!!!  And I use polite manners and a very sweet, calm, feminine, controlled, respectful, friendly approach.  I flirt with him.  I act as if I believe the BEST in him when I ask something of him.  I do not have a conversation with him in my head anymore and get mad at what I THINK he might say.   I don’t assume anymore.  I really let him think about it and leave it up to him.

 THIS MEANS THAT I HAVE TO CARE MORE ABOUT MY INTIMACY AND RELATIONSHIP WITH HIM THAN I CARE ABOUT GETTING MY WAY ABOUT SOMETHING.

I yield control to him and I trust my husband and God to work things out better than I could work them out for myself.  God’s wisdom is much higher than mine!  He’s big enough to handle this stuff.  I had to learn that God is truly sovereign – even over my marriage!?!?  I really did NOT get that before.  I acted like I was sovereign and God and my husband were wimps.   Now I know how big, loving, strong, kind, generous and powerful God and my husband are!  And I trust my husband to have wisdom that I don’t have and that he will make the best decision he can in the eyes of God, knowing he is accountable to God for what he decides.  Now, this is just how life is and I have no problem doing this effortlessly – but at first, it was terrifying and I felt like I was throwing myself off a cliff.  It got much easier with practice and understanding and a new, growing history of success! 

A BIG KEY: 

 I do not get attached to the outcome of decisions. I am attached to my husband and God – not to specific decisions or to getting my way!

So I can roll with whatever my husband decides (even if it wasn’t what I wanted!)  and trust that God will use it for my good.  I give my opinions, desires, thoughts and feelings in a brief, condensed, bottom line kind of way.  I do it without anger, blame or accusation.  Sometimes I cry if I am really sad but I don’t EVER scream, yell, or pitch a fit anymore.  I don’t have to.  My husband LOVES to see me happy now and will do almost anything for me now that he feels so respected and admired.

I know my power is in my pleasant femininity, my beautiful approach, my smile, my faith, my trust, my respect – not in negativity, criticisms, nagging, belittling, hounding, berating, lecturing, or trying to control.  I did NOT get what I wanted too often from my man when I used to do all that negative stuff.

I know that because my husband is feeling respected and because he knows I trust him as the leader of our family, he will do what he thinks is best.  And I know he has a good head on his shoulders.  So I just leave it with him and I pray for God to give him wisdom.  I am PATIENT.  I wait a long time.  I don’t rush him.  I don’t push him.  I don’t get up in exasperation and take over after he hasn’t answered in 30 minutes.  I wait for days or weeks or months – as long as it takes.  I am flexible and can be happy and content regardless of his decision (unless he is asking me to sin or asking me to condone sin – that is a different post!  I would have to respectfully, but FIRMLY resist him in that situation and very humbly appeal to God’s Word as a higher authority that I cannot disobey.)

SHARING MY EMOTIONS

One thing I do (I learned this from “The Surrendered Wife” by Laura Doyle) is that I try to tell my husband my full range of emotions in a very simple, straightforward way.  I don’t expect him to guess how I am feeling.  I volunteer that information daily or whenever a new emotion surfaces.  This keeps things from building up and exploding!  THIS IS IMPORTANT!!!!!  My emotions act as a compass to my husband in our marriage.  I can influence his leadership decisions with my emotions (IF HE IS FEELING RESPECTED BY ME and he knows I am letting him lead).

EXAMPLES:

  • Last Friday, I was at work when my little girl lost her first tooth.  I felt really sad about that.  So I told my husband, “I feel really sad that I missed our baby girl’s tooth coming out!  I wish I had been with her and hadn’t missed out on that big milestone.”  And, yes, I cried because I was sad.  So he hugged me and told me he was sorry that I was sad and that he loved me.  Then he took me out to a wonderful dinner.
  • Every day, I think about how glad I am I get to be here and live with my husband and share our life together.  So whenever I well up with gratitude, I tell him things like, “I am SO HAPPY I get to be your wife!”  “I LOVE being yours!”  “I am excited to be with you!”  “THANK YOU for being my husband!” (even if he doesn’t say anything in response – that is ok!)
  • When something makes me nervous, I say things like, “I feel afraid/nervous about X.  I want to do Y, but I trust you to make the best decision for us.”
  • “I’m exhausted today.”  (this one, I only say once and only when I am particularly worn out.  I try to just lean in and hug him close and whisper it in his ear while I am hugging him and kissing him on the cheek.)  These days – he usually tells me to lie down and he’ll handle the children if I say this!  REALLY!!!!!!!!!
  • “I just need to talk about how I am feeling.  You haven’t done anything wrong.  Would you please listen to me for a few minutes?  That would help me out SO MUCH!”  This gives him the warning that I am venting and that he is being my hero just by listening.  I actually don’t have to do this nearly as much anymore.  But he is wonderful about listening and holding me and being understanding when I do!  I keep it brief and to the point, and then I THANK HIM for listening!

My joy, delight and happiness tell him that he is doing a great job (he is winning).  My disappointment, anger, sadness and withdrawal tell him that he is not doing a good job, or he needs to adjust something (he may interpret that as he is losing before he feels respected).

My pain and hurt WILL motivate him IF

  • I don’t blame HIM for my negative emotions.  I say, “I’m lonely.  I miss you!”  not “You NEVER spend any time with me!  YOU DON’T LOVE ME ANYMORE!!!!”  So I say, “I feel sad.”  “I feel afraid.”  I am sure to tell my husband all about my good emotions, too!  He hears MUCH more: “I feel happy” “I am so excited!” “I can’t wait to see you!”  “Welcome home!  I have MISSED you!” – than he hears negative things.  I tell my husband what my emotions are in a simple, VERY BOILED DOWN TO THE BASICS kind of way.
  • I keep control over my tone of voice, body language, facial expressions and volume! If I am very sad, I don’t have to smile, I might even cry sometimes.  But usually,  I stay friendly, positive, optimistic, calm and in control.
  • I am brief.
  • I do NOT EVER attack his character, his manhood, his decisions, his leadership, his right to lead, his weaknesses…      I DO NOT ATTACK HIM.  PERIOD.  I put away my verbal weapons and stay very vulnerable, humble, gentle and peaceful.

My priority is to let him know that his heart is safe with me.  I don’t want to do ANYTHING thoughtless and selfish to jeopardize my intimacy with him.  I do not want to go back to wounding him.  I can tell him how I feel without attacking him.  If he feels attacked, he will NOT hear my heart.

IF I WANT TO GO ON A BIG, EMOTIONAL, VERBAL TIRADE AFTER ALL OF THIS……..

Hmmm… well, I actually don’t want to do that anymore!!!

Now I know that the price of a verbal assault on my husband is REALLY HIGH.  I will lose precious ground in emotional/spiritual/physical intimacy that I have spent years trying to gain.  IT IS NOT WORTH IT!

If I allow myself the liberty of yelling, screaming, saying hateful and angry things and attacking my husband, then I am probably going to sin against him in my anger.  And you know what he’ll be thinking about instead of his sin or his behavior against me at that point?  He’ll be thinking about my sin and what I did wrong to hurt him.  If I don’t sin against him when he has sinned against me or hurt me – then all he has to think about is his own sin, his own selfishness, his own pride, his own soul and his own conscience.  God’s voice will be much more audible for him when I stay out of the way than if I create a bunch of distraction with hysterics, uncontrolled anger, high volume and negative emotions.  God’s Spirit gives me self-control and peace every day now!

It did take me a good 2+ years to get completely to the point I am at now.  But now I know how to communicate my feelings respectfully, which issues are worth bringing up and when to drop things.  REALLY AND TRULY! … Ok, I can see you looking at me with skepticism!  But this is where I live now.  It is SO peaceful and wonderful – that is why I am writing so that you can find this beautiful place in your life and marriage, too!

It was a process of learning, but we have been living in peace and harmony on a daily basis for 2 years now (I started learning about respect and submission almost 4 years ago).  If we have a little misunderstanding, we both immediately move toward each other with understanding, love and respect and we get over it almost before it even starts!    It is WONDERFUL!

I finally understand his heart and motives.   I truly believe in my husband and respect him and can list a long list of his strengths anytime, any day.  I don’t focus on his faults anymore. I pray daily for God to give him wisdom to lead our family, and I totally trust God to do that.   I know that my husband has good intentions toward me and isn’t purposely trying to upset or hurt me.  So I don’t get upset about that stuff anymore.  I let him be a man, and I let him be himself and I DO NOT TRY TO CHANGE HIM AT ALL ANYMORE.  I don’t try to make him be like me or be more feminine.  He’s different from me.  That is GOOD!  I understand my femininity and where my power is and it is in my respect, my biblical submission to his leadership, my joy, my smile, my admiration and my being pleasant to be around.  I enjoy him.  I savor him.  I marvel at the differences between us and enjoy the interplay between the masculinity and femininity and allow the differences to attract us.

My husband is so attentive to me now, he jumps to do things to please me.  If he knows I have a need – he’s on it.  I rest in his love and trust him now.  I know we are on the same team and I never look at him as an enemy the way I used to years ago.

OLD SOURCES OF CONTENTION AND HOW I HANDLE THEM NOW

  • “If he loved me, why wouldn’t he email me back ALL DAY?  How could he not have sent me a loving email for FOUR WEEKS!?!  Maybe he doesn’t love me anymore????”  Now I know that he loves me even if he doesn’t email me for weeks.  That used to be a huge source of fear for me years ago.    Now I get that he’s just not a big gushy loving email kind of guy.  But he loves me with all his heart.  Now I know he shows me he loves me in other ways.  So I don’t get upset about that anymore.  I am completely confident in his love.  Sometimes I email him to tell him something I respect about him – a brief paragraph, not 2000 words anymore!  And I don’t expect an email back.  If he does email me back, it is a wonderful gift that I enjoy!  If he doesn’t, that’s ok, I look forward to seeing him after work.
  • What if I want him to do something and he doesn’t do it?  Then I don’t make a big deal of it and I just divert to another plan.  So if I ask my husband, “Honey, would you wake up our son, please?”  I give him as much time as possible.  He’ll do it much later than I would, but I don’t complain – I thank him when he does it.  If he forgets or doesn’t do something, I handle it without arguing or complaining.
  • I don’t want to work, I want to be home with the children. – This one was the hardest for me.  I want to be home.  I believe that is where God wants me to be.  My husband wants me to work at least some.  So I found a job that is much less stressful (that is a God thing!) than my old job.  And I work about 10 hours/week because my husband wants me to.  I trust that he and God are using this for my good.  I do get to be home A LOT, and I am extremely thankful for that.  There was a time my husband wanted me to work more.  I told him “I don’t want to work more.”  I cried and prayed a lot about it.  And he didn’t force me to work more – he saw that it upset me too much and he allowed me to make the decision.  I live within our budget and I don’t buy things we don’t need.  I try to make it as easy as possible for him to have me at home so much.
  • I want us to pray together more.  Now, I ask him to pray with me sometimes.  Other nights, I just put my hand on him and pray over him after he turns out the light.
  • I want him to turn off the tv and be with me and talk.  I say politely and pleasantly, “Honey, do you have some time to be with me/talk with me, please?”  And if he doesn’t turn off the tv right away, I go get ready for bed instead or read a book, or just enjoy sitting with him (he’ll ususally rub my back or stroke my hair if I sit near him.)  And when he gets to a place where he can pause the tv, he will and then he gives me all of his attention.  And I thank him!  I talk with him for awhile (10-15 minutes), then I wrap it up and thank him again!  Other times I talk with him while the TV is on, and he gives me all of his attention now.
  • Some women get EXTREMELY upset if their husband doesn’t buy them a gift for a special day.  I actually don’t care now if my husband gets me anything for Mother’s Day or Valentine’s Day (or even Christmas or my birthday) because I feel SO loved every single day – I am in heaven!  In fact, he didn’t get me anything for Mother’s Day this year because he asked me what I wanted and I told him I was so happy that I didn’t need anything.  And I meant it!  I was the happiest wife and mama on the planet that day – and every day.  I live in gratitude constantly to God and to my husband – and I LOVE it this way!  I am VERY EASY TO PLEASE because I am so thankful for all that I have.  I am content
  • Some women get really upset if their husband doesn’t take them out on a date to a certain restaurant or if they don’t have a night on the town a certain number of times per month or so.  These days, I don’t care if my husband takes me out on the town or if we stay at home and enjoy a home cooked meal together with the children at their grandparents. I am flexible.  I am open to him surprising me and planning things and I don’t get disappointed because I have no expectations!  I am focused on increasing and building emotional and spiritual intimacy between us not on the particular details of what we do and where we go. I enjoy being with HIM, the details don’t trip me up anymore.  A lot of the little things that used to be a big deal don’t bother me anymore at all.  And sometimes my husband surprises me with some VERY fancy plans – and I feel like a princess!  Other times he surprises me with a wonderful meal at home – and I feel like a princess there, too!
  • If we don’t have much time together one week, and I start to feel disconnected from him or if I begin to doubt his love for some reasonI would have begun to panic about whether or not he still loved me years ago.  This could have been a major ordeal with a lot of emotional outbursts on my end in the past. Now, I just tell him, “I miss you!”  “I’m lonely!!”  or “Would you please hold me!”  Or I go to him and put my head on his shoulder or sit beside him and put his arm around me.  He cuddles with me and tells me he loves me.  I feel so protected, cherished, adored, loved and well-provided for.
  • I used to ask my husband to do something for me and then stand there and practically tap my foot impatiently waiting for him to answer.  If he didn’t IMMEDIATELY answer – like in about 10 seconds, I would start to be upset.  Sometimes he would go for 30 minutes without answering me and then I would REALLY lose it – the whole evening would be ruined because I thought he was purposely being rude and not answering me.    I understand that my husband needs time to process now.  I don’t hold that against him.  Usually, if I say that I want something, he does it.  It might not always be in 5 seconds, but he hears me and wants me to be happy.  My smile is his favorite thing in the world.  So I just say nonchalantly what I want in passing and in a friendly way and then I change the subject or leave the room to continue working on chores or something so that he doesn’t feel pressured or coerced.
  • If I disagree with something my husband is doing as a father, I would have lectured him condescendingly in the past.  Now I say humbly, lovingly, respectfully, “I am praying about our children and I want to be sure that they learn to be generous, have servant’s hearts, not be selfish, not be spoiled” (or whatever the issue is).  Then I tell him “I want to do X to try to address this situation.   I am praying about it.  I trust you to do what is best for them.”  And then I drop it and sometimes continue to pray but mostly expectantly wait on God’s answer and my husband’s answer.
  • If there is a chore I want him to do and I don’t want to do it anymore – I tell him, “I can’t do X anymore.”  Then I don’t do it at all, ever.  I don’t touch it.  He’ll eventually do it.  Or it won’t get done!
  • I also spend a lot of time with God each day.  I depend on HIM to make me joyful and happy, I don’t hold my husband responsible for my happiness anymore.  My husband is NOT my idol!  This is a HUGE key to being able to be at peace with my husband!

IF I AM SOMEHOW UPSET ABOUT SOMETHING NOW:

I say something like, “I am upset about  X” as soon as I realize he did something to upset me.  This almost NEVER happens these days.  But I would say that and then distance myself physically and emotionally until he apologizes.  Now, if I did say that, my husband would immediately apologize.  But if he didn’t, I would just remove myself and create space.  This works best when I usually am giving him admiration, praise and respect.  He will MISS those things when they stop.  He will want to restore the happy wife again very quickly!

Bob Grant talks about that “men respond to pain and distance, not words.”  He also says, “words are for women.”  The accompanying important piece of info here is that words are not for men.  Words aren’t effective to sway the emotions of men.  Stopping communication and contact is more effective.  If he comes around and starts to talk, I could say, “I’m still upset.”  And that is really all I would probably have to say.  He will most likely apologize the first time, but if he didn’t, he will probably apologize at this later point.  If not, I can continue to wait if it is really that big of a deal.  He’ll get the message this way if I am being respectfully distant – not pouty!  And he will remember what he did and feel guilty and eventually apologize.

I would also use this time to get myself spiritually centered on Christ and to begin working on forgiving my husband, repenting for any bitterness on my part, and seeking how Christ might want me to overcome evil with good in this situation.

If he sins against me in a big way – that would be a different post.  But interestingly, that hasn’t happened since I have learned about respect and submission!  But there are ways to handle that with grace, poise, dignity, self-control, the Spirit being in charge of me, and respect, too!

I HOPE THIS ANSWERS SOME OF THE BIGGER QUESTIONS!

I know some of you have  more questions!  If you do, feel free to ask!

Lord,

Help us to learn to use the power of the gifts of godly femininity and help us to communicate respectfully to our husbands so that they don’t feel attacked!  Help us to speak the language of respect fluently and to meet our husbands’ deep, masculine needs for respect and for being the leader in the family in ways that touch our husbands’ souls.  Let us, our character, our conduct, our words, our attitudes, our tone of voice and our influence greatly honor Christ in our marriages!

Amen!

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 Comments on “Instead of Going on a BIG, Emotional, Verbal Tirade…”

  1. Norma
    June 20, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    Wonderful post. One thing I would add that was a source of contention for us was the word “nothing.” I’m sure you can imagine the scene, I’m obviously not being myself, there is obviously something wrong and he would ask what was wrong, sometimes two or three times and would always be met with “nothing” in my downcast “whoa is me tone.” At this point he would blow up and be furious with me that I would not tell him what was wrong and I was left thinking how unfair he was. Sometimes I really didn’t know what was wrong, sometimes I didn’t know how to put it in words, but looking back, most of the times I thought he had wronged me in some way and my bad mood and pitiful little “nothings” was intended to punish him. After he left and I knew he was mad I’d be ready to talk but he was done. I don’t think I could count the times he said he got so tired of trying to drag out of me what was wrong, just spit it out!

    Eventually I learned that I just need to simply make a small statement immediately about what is bothering me, or if I’m not for sure what it is, saying, “You know I’m really not for sure, but I do feel a little down, but it has nothing to do with you,” Then we can talk and more often than not, figure out what is wrong. Mercy how I wish I could relive my younger years with the wisdom I have gained! It sure would have made life easier.

    Also, so, so SO agree with you about the gifts for special days. I do not need a gift for a birthday, or valentines day because I feel so loved each and every day.

    Like

    • peacefulwife
      June 20, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

      Norma,
      Thank you for sharing!
      I completely agree about not using that word “nothing” and then being visibly upset. I used to do that, too! Drove my poor husband crazy. It’s so much better when I just say how I feel and keep him current on my emotional state so there aren’t surprises and built up negativity later!
      Thank you SO much for your story. I appreciate it greatly!

      Like

  2. Being June
    June 20, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    While I’m not as far along in this journey as you, I can attest to the positive changes in my relationship with my husband. When I discovered and made peace with the fact that my husband has (as you mentioned) God-given authority over our family, I began to…well…act accordingly. I’m still practicing, of course, but it’s amazing and a blessing to see my husband come forward and lead with such ease now that I’m getting out of the way. What you’ve written here so great, especially the practical examples and real-life anecdotes. For me, it’s immensely helpful to see biblical principles translated this way. Thanks for the wonderful post!

    Like

    • peacefulwife
      June 20, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      Being June,
      You are VERY welcome! I pray that God might use my example to help other women find His design – maybe a lot sooner than I did!
      I love hearing your story and hearing all that God is doing in your life, faith and marriage. Keep shining for Christ!

      Like

  3. hope44
    June 21, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Peacefulwife,
    Wow!!! Your post brought me to tears. It is very painful to look back on my marriage of 3 years and begin to see ALL of my sin. I want it all to change NOW!!!! But my lack of patience and trust have always been the issues that ignite destruction in my marriage. The wisdom that you share is invaluable and I know it will take time for me to process and implement. It is like a foreign language (: But by God’s grace, I will change in His time and with His strength, not my own.

    Matthew 19:26 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.”

    Thank you for answering my question from “Wives Can Seem Scary to Husbands Sometimes.” I’m making a spread sheet to study and refer to when communicating with my husband. LOL (:

    When I’m hurt or upset, the major issue that prevents me from talking respectful and gentle to my husband is my anger. Underneath, I am a very sensitive woman (more than I would like to be) and have covered up my vulnerably with anger to protect myself. However, my anger hasn’t protected me from anything and has only caused more damage in my marriage. Now, when I attempt to be vulnerable and express to him that something hurt me, he gets on the defensive, which in turn makes me furious (but underneath I am sobbing).

    I desperately want to be vulnerable, soft, gentle, feminine, and respectful to my husband. I have been so rough, tough, and vulgar that he doesn’t “protect me” and lets me deal with problems like I am the “alpha”. I can “hold my own” but I desire to feel protection from my husband. I want to step out of the leader role but no one will be “driving” if I step down. Scary thought. 😦

    But I guess my main concern is my anger. My anger prevents me from being respectful. When angry that my husband has been (unintentionally) insensitive or hurtful – how do we handle this? How do we become and remain vulnerable in the face of pain and fear??? Is this anger just unique to me or is it common in marriages that lack biblical respect?

    Thank you for taking the time to post on this topic. Have a blessed day (:

    Like

    • peacefulwife
      June 21, 2012 at 1:47 pm #

      Hope44,
      Thank you for your kind comments! I know this is SOOOOOOO hard and foreign and awkward. It is very overwhelming, disorienting and confusing at first when you see that you’ve been sinning against your husband in ways that you didn’t even know about. I cried for 3 days straight when I finally saw my sin. And it took me literally weeks and weeks of confessing all my pride every day to get to the bottom of it. It is HARD to learn to obey God and do things that go completely against what your heart tells you to do at first. It’s also really hard to find godly examples and other women to be able to talk to, learn from and model after. That is why I am writing this blog! I am hoping to give women resources that I WISH I had when I was first starting this journey.
      Many other women are experiencing exactly what you are right now. I’m really thankful for your comments because you are verbalizing what so many wives want to know and the struggles they are having. These are GOOD questions! Keep them coming!

      My understanding now is that anger is usually a response because I am actually afraid or hurting. Women most often are afraid of
      – their husband’s love disappearing
      – lack of security in his love and in the marriage
      – giving up control (we think that everything will fall apart if we’ve always lived this way), we need reassurance that our husband REALLY will look out for our best interests and not lead selfishly the way we think he might. It’s scary to submit to another person – and it’s much scarier if the person is selfish. A godly, generous, loving, kind, thoughtful man is much easier to submit to.
      – if we don’t get our way, something won’t be done “right” or horrible things might happen.

      If you can identify your hurt or fear, husbands can hear pain and fear a LOT easier than they can hear anger. Anger almost always comes across disrespectfully.

      I like what Dr. Eggerich says in “Love and Respect”:
      “Honey, that felt unloving, did I come across disrespectfully just now?”

      (husbands can say, “Honey, that felt disrespectful, did I come across unlovingly just now?”)

      I would STRONGLY recommend apologizing (once) for the sin you have recognized.
      Something like:
      “Sweetheart,
      I am realizing just how much I have sinned against you in our marriage. I see clearly now that I have been extremely disrespectful to you. I see that I have tried to be in control instead of supporting your God-given authority and leadership. I was wrong. I don’t want to hurt you like this anymore. I am SO sorry for what I have done. I want to learn to respect you and follow your leadership. I have a lot to learn, and I know I won’t be perfect at it, but I am willing to learn all I can. I’m so glad that you didn’t cave in to me when I was trying to change you. I really respect that you have a back bone and that you are a man of your convictions. I apologize for wounding you and hurting our marriage.
      I thank God you are my husband and I want to become the godly wife Jesus wants me to be and that you need.”

      THEN
      When you notice anger –
      identify the fear underneath. Are you afraid of losing control? Is control an idol? Are you seeing God’s sovereignty clearly? Are you afraid of being unloved? Are you afraid of insecurity in the relationship? Are you overwhelmed because you are trying to carry the weight God meant for your husband to carry in the relationship?

      Say, “I am feeling afraid.” If you are able to identify specifically why, you could say, “I am feeling afraid and can’t really see/hear/feel your love right now. Would you be able to hold me for a few minutes and remind me that you love me, please?” Or you can say, “I am feeling so scared. Will you protect me?” “I’m afraid, will you cuddle with me and tell me everything is going to be alright?”

      Go to God and ask Him to help you see what your idols are and how to uproot them completely and replace them with Him. Play a lot of praise music and spend 30 minutes a day or more with God in Bible Study and quiet time.

      LETTING HIM BE IN CHARGE

      You can say something like, “I don’t want to be in charge anymore. I’m so sorry that I took over. I was wrong to do that. I know I have a lot to learn about being a good follower. But I am stepping down now. I completely support your leadership. I trust you to decide what is best for us. I’m glad you are in charge, not me. I’m so thankful for your wisdom.”

      THEN
      You can say what you want (once) and how you feel (briefly and without anger or blame). You can praise all that you see that you admire and respect. And you get out of his way. You commit to waiting a lot. You just wait if he doesn’t lead. It will be ok.
      I told God, I will wait RIGHT HERE spiritually/geographically/relationally until I am 80 years old if I have to! But I am NOT going to try to lead my husband or You anymore, Lord! And I made peace with waiting. If my husband didn’t lead. That’s ok. Must not have been God’s will for me.

      If you have a godly mentor (older married woman) – you can also call her and talk to her to help you work through feelings. But please be careful about what women you go to for advice! Look at their marriages first! Make sure they are strong, mature, godly marriages where the wife is obeying God before you listen to one word of counsel!

      Does this help some?

      Like

      • hope44
        June 22, 2012 at 10:14 am #

        Peacefulwife, yes this helps very much (: Thank you for your heartfelt response. I will meditate on these words and take one interaction with my husband at a time. With the start of the Respect Dare group in July, I hope to form relationships with godly mentors and will strive to be a mentor to other wives someday. Have a blessed weekend.

        Like

        • peacefulwife
          June 23, 2012 at 11:48 pm #

          Hope44,
          I am glad! And yes, it may have to be a slow process at first. It is a completely different mindset and takes time to understand what needs to change and how to change things. I know GOd will empower you! I am very excited about your Respect Dare group! That will be such a help to you and all the women and marriages involved! May God greatly bless you in your faith and on your journey to learn to respect and follow your husband. And may God give your husband wisdom and love to represent Christ to you and to lead you in God’s will for your life!

          Like

  4. Santosha
    June 21, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    I am going to print this out and read it every day. What a wonderful summary and reminder of everything I’m struggling to embrace. I was just telling my husband how difficult it it to learn how to be a surrendered wife with everything surrounding us today. I feel that it is a great loss that I am afraid and embaressed to tell my mother and older sister about this. The women in my family were the outspoken leaders. I need to daily read The Surrendered Wife and your blog to encourage myself and keep me on track. Often I even have to overcome my own hidden biases after watching tv shows or news clips that highlight pushy nagging women. It is discouraging for me to be seemingly surrounded by women who find being a surrendered wife to be an insult and outrageously backwards and demeaning. Sometimes I don’t feel strong enough to defy those ideas. How do you help this?

    Like

  5. The Water Bearer
    June 22, 2012 at 12:14 am #

    Absolutely brilliant post! I have tears streaming down my face after reading your reply to Hope44, that apology you wrote was so very true and I am sad for women all over the world who may never be able to say thse words with honesty, and for men who may never get to hear them. It was also a beautiful reminder that while I understand and apply these principles as often as possible and much more than in my younger years, I still have my moments of weakness, usually brought about from my psychologial condition and I know I hurt my husband when I am like that. Thank you the conviction, and for your wonderful prayer, your blog and for sharing your growth to inspire and encourage us all. Bless You Peacefulwife! 🙂

    Like

    • peacefulwife
      June 22, 2012 at 6:38 am #

      Thewaterbearer,

      Thank you for sharing your thoughts!!!!! The apology I wrote for hope44 is almost exactly what I said to my husband when I saw my sin and repented. I agree, I think just about every husband needs to hear words like this at some point. And if he sees his wife’s deep desire to learn to respect and follow him, even if she is not perfect, I believe he will be moved with compassion on her!

      How I pray for healing in the marriages of God’s church!

      Thank you for sharing your story and your perspective! May God richly bless you and your husband and allow your marriage to draw others to Christ!

      Like

  6. The Water Bearer
    June 22, 2012 at 6:43 am #

    Thank you & Amen!

    Like

  7. Ellie
    October 11, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    How do you handle the emotions? I have gotten to the point where I can step back and see that I am just being emotional and that it has little to do with my husband- I am feeling fearful, feeling lonely, feeling marginalized, etc… and I used to pick fights to kind of burn up those bad emotions. Now, I am really trying to control myself, but I struggle with handling bad emotions in a positive way.

    Like

    • peacefulwife
      October 11, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

      Ellie,
      Thankfully, as you learn to stop the negativity, criticism, controlling, bossing, nagging, worrying and fear – and as you learn to trust God to take care of your family through your husband’s leadership -a lot of the awful feelings and ocean of negative emotions will dissipate. But there will still be some emotions to deal with. And that is a good thing! your emotions are a gift for your husband. They often act as a compass to tell him how well he is doing. Sometimes, they go haywire and can’t be depended on, but other times they are a gift to the marriage and family and help husbands make the best decision. So you identify your feelings and label them and tell your husband, politely, calmly, respectfully, “I am feeling sad.” “I am feeling scared.” “I feel lonely.” “I am nervous.” and you also tell him ALL the GOOD feelings you have! You don’t blame your husband for your feelings. But you do communicate what you are feeling in a pure form and then he can decide what to do with that information. And if you are feeling lonely, you can calmly say what you want, ie : “I feel lonely. Would you please hold me/listen to me for 15 minutes?” And then if he CAN’T take care of you – take your feelings and pain to God and let Him handle them. So you can be unshaken even if your husband doesn’t meet your needs, because you ultimately are trusting God to meet your needs.

      http://peacefulwife.com/2012/04/06/your-emotions-are-meant-to-bless-your-husband/

      Like

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fighting Fair | Peacefulwife's Blog - November 9, 2012

    […] Share What Is Disrespectful to Them   Things that Fuel a Spirit of Discontentment in Me   Instead of Going on a Big, Emotional, Verbal Tirade […]

    Like

  2. The Powerful Concept of “Submitting Under Protest” – Part 1 | Peacefulwife's Blog - December 4, 2013

    […] Instead of Going on a Big, Emotional Tirade…  […]

    Like

Thanks for joining the discussion. :)